PDA

View Full Version : Your opinion please..



TasH
17-05-2010, 06:00 PM
My Dad is selling his Monaro Cv8, after three weeks we havent been hearing anything from any potential buyers untill quite randomly we recieve an email from a person asking us if the car was still for sale, we took this as a legitimate intrest and replied by saying yes it was and that he should give us a call to arrange a meet....

Quite immediately the guy replied, thanking us for our immediate reply and said that he was a marine engineer who was out at sea and can unfortunately not call us, yet he is very intrested in the car and would like to purchase it for his Fathers birthday(My dad turned to me and told me what a good son this guy was.......keep dreaming mate). Anyhow he was offering to pay for the car with paypal with no pre-inspection or anything.

Im quite curious if this is a legit request and i was just checking if i could get another persons perspective on the situation.

In the buyers defence I do think that he is a legit person and he is not trying to pull a scam or waste our time, but i have been wrong before....

Big Yellow
17-05-2010, 06:01 PM
SCAM!!!!!!

schoona
17-05-2010, 06:02 PM
Take it on face value? He has the money obviously, just meet away from your house and have someone else with you?

schoona
17-05-2010, 06:03 PM
What is there to gain though? Unless you sign something away..........

** I missed the paypal bit ;)

random
17-05-2010, 06:08 PM
scam!! got that same email when i sold my last car. If you agree, they will say an agent will pick it up, while they transfer the money to you.... than the money would disappear from your paypal account as soon as they pick up the car

SammyR32
17-05-2010, 06:09 PM
SCAM Mate. As if someone would pay via paypal for a Car. Would you do that?? No way!Bank check, etc only.

AP
17-05-2010, 06:11 PM
That's a scam, I had the same thing with my AMG number plates I had for sale!! It was worded the exact same way!!! Scary...

TasH
17-05-2010, 06:15 PM
Yeah i thought the same thing and my paps Monaro aint exactly cheap, although regarding den's comment he said he the agent would pick up the car after payment had cleared :icon_neutral: but the two stories sound extremely similiar. However the emails were sent at extremely strange hours(like 4 in the morning) would'nt this lead towards the Buyers side with the whole im at sea thing??

nath_mk6
17-05-2010, 06:16 PM
yeah a pretty common scam these days, inform the ACC and leave it be.

see here http://blog.gumtree.com/paypal-scam-alert/

or here http://helpcentre.carsales.com.au/scam-defence/buyer-articles/february-2010/false-paypal-payment-scam/

M4RK0
17-05-2010, 06:27 PM
Nah! SCAM!

Easy, ask him for an address or details to do the disposal notice for the RTA,

TasH
17-05-2010, 06:57 PM
Yeah after showing my Dad this thread we both came to the conclusion that this was a scam....

Thanks for all your help guys I really apreciate it.

SUGA
17-05-2010, 06:59 PM
Wow thats scary!

stephen8512
17-05-2010, 07:03 PM
yeah dont do it....
lol....paypal.........

VR53KS
17-05-2010, 07:11 PM
Yo dawg,

As we are currently discussing over the lovely option of Facebook chat, this is a scam and you might just have to ignore it - unless you're a fan of losing both the car AND the money ;) Shame to hear that your dad got his hopes up with gettin rid of the Naro, but there's nothing you can do.

Now get back into your hole. :lol:

TasH
17-05-2010, 07:15 PM
Yeah haha i will if thats how you would describe parent teacher interviews, similiar to how i would...

Cam
17-05-2010, 07:26 PM
I had a few scam buyers when I was selling my old MKV comfortline.
One of them said she was from England and was going to get a shipping agent to arrange pickup (they wanted our address) naturally we reported them to carsales and deleted the correspondence.

Had several others like that as well, one of them even called!!
Pack of b@stards those scammers....as if it isn't already stressful enough selling your car
:(