Volkswagen Golf MKIVolkswagen Golf MKIIVolkswagen Golf MKIIIVolkswagen Golf MKIVVolkswagen Golf MKVVolkswagen Golf MKVIVolkswagen Golf MKVII


+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 53

Thread: MIB II - Custom POI's / Speed Cameras etc

  1. #21
    Senior Member Primordial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Daily
    Golf R Wolfsburg
    Name
    Primordial
    Posts
    308

    Quote Originally Posted by ryanjames20 View Post
    Can confirm with @paullings findings, on my MY15 R-Line - Don't have the option to "Update POI's" or in fact anything along those lines in the navigations settings.
    Very disappointed :'( I was getting all so excited.

    @Primordial, Thank you very much for sharing your findings and good luck to all those lucky MY16 folks *tears of joy* :')
    No dramas! But sorry it couldn't help you guys


    Quote Originally Posted by Mk532 View Post
    Hi Spanner82.

    Thanks for your reply.

    I'd already made sure that the PersonalPOI folder and metainfo2.txt were in the root directory, but I checked again.

    The files were in the right location, but I thought I'd check the contents of the PersonalPOI folder.....

    Within the PersonalPOI folder are three more folders:

    1) MIB2DE
    2) MIB2HIGH
    3) MIB2TSD

    Within both the MIB2HIGH and MIB2TSD folders were subfolders they replicated the PersonalPOI folder structure and the metainfo2.txt file.

    The contents of the MIB2DE folder was a single metainfo2.txt file, so I left this one alone.

    I attempted to copy the contents of the MIB2HIGH subfolder to the root directory of the SD card but that still wouldn't update.

    I then tried to copy the subfolder of the MIB2TSD folder to the SD Card and gave it one last attempt -- et VOILA!!!

    POI's installed.

    I hope this helps someone else too.



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Ohh good work! Glad you got it sorted!

    Are my instructions incorrect? Has anyone had luck with actually loading them using that method^? If not, I'll make some change to OP :P

  2. #22
    Über Golfer
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Daily
    Mk7 110TSI Wagon
    2nd Car
    Mercedes C250 Coupe
    Name
    Harry
    Posts
    209

    Quote Originally Posted by Mk532 View Post
    Hi Spanner82.

    Thanks for your reply.

    I'd already made sure that the PersonalPOI folder and metainfo2.txt were in the root directory, but I checked again.

    The files were in the right location, but I thought I'd check the contents of the PersonalPOI folder.....

    Within the PersonalPOI folder are three more folders:

    1) MIB2DE
    2) MIB2HIGH
    3) MIB2TSD

    Within both the MIB2HIGH and MIB2TSD folders were subfolders that replicated the PersonalPOI folder structure and the metainfo2.txt file.

    The contents of the MIB2DE folder was a single metainfo2.txt file, so I left this one alone.

    I attempted to copy the contents of the MIB2HIGH subfolder to the root directory of the SD card but that still wouldn't update.

    I then tried to copy the subfolder of the MIB2TSD folder to the SD Card and gave it one last attempt -- et VOILA!!!

    POI's installed.

    I hope this helps someone else too.



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    HI Mk532

    Thank you for your above instructions. They worked a dream on my car because originally I had the same problem as you when I had the 3 folders as the root directory on the sd card.

    By the way, I am the friend that Seph was referring to on the other thread with the MY16 110TSI wagon who has the same software and hardware version as you and get the same issues as you when it comes to activating TMC.

    So let me know if you ever figure that out and I shall do the same. I am thinking if there is anyway we can get a different version of the software from somewhere and install it? Thinking whether I can rip the software off Seph's car.

    Thanks.
    =)

  3. #23
    Senior Member Seph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Daily
    2012 Golf R
    2nd Car
    2007 Jetta
    Name
    Joseph
    Posts
    730

    Quote Originally Posted by harryboy_1 View Post
    Thinking whether I can rip the software off Seph's car.

    Thanks.
    =)
    If you screw it up i'll rip your face off.
    Now: 2012 Golf R DSG | BMPE | Bilstein PSS10 | GIAC |

    Gone: 2006 A3 8PA Sportback 2.0T | BrilliantBlack | GIAC | Neuspeed Torque Arm Insert | Bilstein PSS10 | Forge Catch Can | Dbilas intake |

    Gone: 2003 MK4 Golf 2.0 Sport | Bilstein PSS9 |

  4. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    101

    MIB II - Custom POI's / Speed Cameras etc

    Quote Originally Posted by harryboy_1 View Post
    HI Mk532

    Thank you for your above instructions. They worked a dream on my car because originally I had the same problem as you when I had the 3 folders as the root directory on the sd card.

    By the way, I am the friend that Seph was referring to on the other thread with the MY16 110TSI wagon who has the same software and hardware version as you and get the same issues as you when it comes to activating TMC.

    So let me know if you ever figure that out and I shall do the same. I am thinking if there is anyway we can get a different version of the software from somewhere and install it? Thinking whether I can rip the software off Seph's car.

    Thanks.
    =)
    Hi Harryboy.

    Not a problem!

    I guess the H24/0241 version has an issue with both the traffic updates and the folder structure for the POI's.

    I'll post if I find anything out.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Last edited by Mk532; 29-10-2015 at 09:08 PM.

  5. #25
    Senior Member i-vtec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    175

    Omg genius thanks Mk532
    It worked. And sadly i have the H24 hardware.


    Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk

  6. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    101

    Quote Originally Posted by i-vtec View Post
    Omg genius thanks Mk532
    It worked. And sadly i have the H24 hardware.


    Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk
    You're welcome!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  7. #27
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Melbourne
    Daily
    S3 Sedan
    2nd Car
    Audi TT
    Name
    Lee
    Posts
    78

    Just to let you know that I managed to upload POIs onto my S3 8V successfully so the systems must be similar. No joy on the TT though.
    S3/Audi TT

  8. #28
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    72

    Thx primordial! Works great!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #29
    Super Moderator M4RK0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Daily
    Golf MK6 GTI
    2nd Car
    Polo MK5 TSI
    Name
    Marco
    Posts
    8,649

    Amazing information!!

    I was actually able to add the Safety and Red Light cameras....

    P.S. I've move this thread to the DIY section well worth to keep
    MK6 GTI KraftwerK 2+ | Exoticars | f: GTI Legacy| Insta: @m4rk0c

  10. #30
    Senior Member i-vtec's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    175

    Quote Originally Posted by M4RK0 View Post
    Amazing information!!

    I was actually able to add the Safety and Red Light cameras....

    P.S. I've move this thread to the DIY section well worth to keep
    How do you add the safety and red light cameras?
    I did the above and it only detects the old usual speed n red light cams but not the new safety cams.

    Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts