Volkswagen Golf MKIVolkswagen Golf MKIIVolkswagen Golf MKIIIVolkswagen Golf MKIVVolkswagen Golf MKVVolkswagen Golf MKVIVolkswagen Golf MKVII

+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Aliexpress downpipe with 200 cell cat.

Daily
    2007 Golf GTI
    Name
    Hayden

Aliexpress downpipe with 200 cell cat.

I thought I'd spin the wheel of chance and buy a downpipe from Aliexpress during the 11/11 sales. Purchased from a store called "MTPerformance" which sells Mertop branded items. The cost of a MK5/6 GTI downpipe with a 200 cell cat was AU$315.31 including delivery to Sydney.

Here's an album with more high-res shots: http://imgur.com/a/ZGhPO

I followed this youtube video for removal/installation: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yp2fTReZByQ

It had already punctured through the flimsy packaging when it arrived but thankfully it's a pretty solid stainless pipe.

I'm no expert, but the welds generally looked pretty good.

Cat which still had some loose debris from shipping.

Side-by-side of the stock downpipe vs the new shiny one.

Sensors and hanger fitted.

After reading that the Chinese supplied gaskets are always rubbish, I went out and bought a new genuine gasket. It's true the supplied gasket was rubbish. A new one cost me about $30 but required driving to 4 different locations. Get the gasket first and save yourself some drama.

It was all going so well until... that's the metal hanger touching the subframe. The noise it made was incredible like the car was about to fall apart.

Hanger alignment was quite a long way off. Too far to the left and rotated slightly clockwise.

I took the car to my local mechanic and had him grind off the hanger and reweld it at a cost of $100.

Tuning it up to Bluefin Stage 2.

So the total cost for upgrading from stage 1 -> stage 2 was:
    $315.31 Downpipe
    $~30.00 Gasket
    $100.00 Rewelding the hanger
    $ 73.90 Superchips stage 2

Total cost
    ~$519.21AUD